Skip to product information
1 of 1

Janez Bogataj / Bagatelles

Janez Bogataj / Bagatelles

Regular price €25,00
Regular price Sale price €25,00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
Secured and trusted checkout with:

"The series Bagatelles, the name of which denotes a short, light piece of music for the piano or a chamber ensemble, comprehensively builds on Bogataj’s opus and represents a logical continuation of his landscape series Sonata for Sun and Fog, with both series taking the inspiration behind their names from the music world. The compositions in the photographs from Bagatelles are utterly subordinate to the colours and patterns from which they are made of. In front of the viewer and through the frequent absence of prominent depth, a single two-dimensional surface unfolds, with the main role taken over by the pointillistic interlacement of natural pigments and shapes of flora." – Vida Jocif

Janez Bogataj was born in 1961. He began creating his recently exhibited series Early Works between 1978 and 1979. In 1981, while he was working as a photographer for the Mladina magazine, he was awarded the Golden Bird award for photographic achievements. Throughout his photojournalistic career, he created more artistic, personal works as well, and published them in the photobook Pastorala (2004), together with quotes from classic literature. He spent 1989 in Paris, where 40 of his photographs were included in the collection of the Bibliothèque Nationale and one was published in the journal Revue de la Bibliothèque Nationale in 1992. He further on published photobooks Sonata for Sun and Fog (2012) and Bagatelles, Early Works 1978–1979 and Impressions (2019).

Print run of 50 copies, hand-signed and numbered.

Size: 20 x 25 cm 
Binding: paperback
Publisher: self-published, 2019

View full details